Here’s to Goodbyes

Looking at that title, you probably already know what I’m going to write in this post. But I’m going to say it anyway.

I’ve decided to stop blogging.

I’ve spent many days considering the pros and cons, but I finally made the decision yesterday that I just couldn’t dedicate the time that this blog–and y’all–deserved.

I started the blog for one reason: to share my love of books. At the time, I didn’t consider the work involved in doing this. I had just thought, hey, having my own blog is cool. But if I had known that having posts a few times a week was so difficult to manage, I don’t think I would have started the blog.

I go to school five days a week from 8:00 to 3:30. Then I have extracurriculars from 3:30 to 5:00. And then I have homework, and I have to read Harry Potter in Chinese to my parents, and throw in dinner, and since I’m a high school student, you KNOW that there’s some procrastinating somewhere in there. So by the time I finish, it’s 10 or 11 or 12 or maybe even 1 or 2, and I’m just exhausted and can only think of sleep. Maybe I could do it on the weekends, but I have church and fellowship and more homework and sometimes competitions. It’s an endless cycle. I can never find time to read a book or fit in a review. Even if I did, it would be a sloppy review and you guys just don’t deserve that.

I knew I had to give something up. I can’t balance sleep and food and church and my grades and extracurriculars and Chinese and SAT/ACT prep and a blog. And considering that two of the above are essential to life, one deals with my core beliefs, and four might determine my future, the only thing I could really take off the list was my blog.

So I’m sorry. I’ve done a crappy job maintaining this blog, and I wish it didn’t have to come down to this, but I don’t want to let you guys down, hoping that I’d come up with a new review soon.

Will I ever come back to the blog, after all this craziness ends? Maybe, maybe not. If I do pursue my dream of becoming a doctor, I might not even have the chance to come back to this until I’m in my 30s. I might look back occasionally and say, hey, remember that time when I started a book blog? And I’ll read my old reviews and smile and laugh, especially for the oldest ones when I had no clue how to review books. And this blog will become a good memory to me.

But in the meantime, I can’t hold onto this blog. I’ll still occasionally review books exclusively on Goodreads, but beyond that, I’m afraid I can’t do any more.

So thanks, guys, for sticking with me these past few years. I guess this is a goodbye, then.

lindasignature

 

 

P.S. If you ever want to talk books with me, feel free to send me a message on Goodreads or email me. I’d be happy to chat. :)

2 responses to “Here’s to Goodbyes

Join in the fervor!

